16 Countries to Hold RCEP Negotiations in Brunei

Source: KBS World Radio| Feb 14, 2016

Officials from 16 Asian countries will hold an eleventh round of negotiations for five days in Brunei from Monday as part of a proposed trade deal known as the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership(RCEP).

Ten members of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations and their six trading partners – South Korea, China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand and India – are participating in the RCEP.

These nations announced in November last year a joint statement pledging to wrap up negotiations by the end of this year on integration in trade, services and investments.

The trade deal, if reached, will create a 22-point-seven trillion dollar market, the second largest economic block after the market of the Trans-Pacific Partnership agreement.

This entry was posted in Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s